A beginners guide to 3D Origami

3D Origami Dragon and baby
3D Origami dragon and baby

3D Origami is something I came across a few years ago when randomly browsing youtube. After trying to follow the beginners tutorials I immediately gave up as my pieces looked awful and the models wouldn’t stay together. About a year later I decided to give it another go and have ended up creating my own designs and selling to people all over the world through etsy.com!

For those of you who have never heard of or seen 3d origami, it’s a craft that requires a lot of patience but the results make it worth it!

It involves cutting normal coloured A4 paper (80gsm) into small rectangles (usually 32 in one sheet of paper) and then folding them into small triangle pieces which you stack together in rounds to make 3D models!

3D Origami pieces
3D Origami pieces

 

The possibilities for models are endless!- although the bigger your ambitions for model scale the more paper you’ll need to fold!

3D Origami swan set
3D Origami swan set

 

3D Origami rabbit
3D Origami rabbit

 

As of yet, I haven’t made any of my own tutorial videos (though I have considered it!) but I’ve listed some good ones below if you want to have a go! These people don’t tend to use glue in their models and while the finished items are very sturdy, I prefer to use glue (PVA) to make sure my models definitely won’t fall apart when I sell them! (It also makes it a lot easier when you’re just starting out.)

3D Origami bluebird
3D Origami Bluebird

 

A good starting point!- folding the pieces

3D Origami for beginners part 1

3D Origami for beginners part 2

A good basic model (and very cute!)

3D Origami penguin

 

Jewellia777 is the top 3D origami person on youtube. Her channel is full of really good tutorials- link below:

https://www.youtube.com/user/jewellia7777

or visit her blog

http://jewellia7777.blogspot.co.uk/

 

To see more of my own designs visit the Just So Studios Etsy shop

or the Facebook page